Notice of 2017 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Water Quality Association

The 2017 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Water Quality Association, an Illinois not-for-profit organization, will be held at 9:00 a.m. Eastern Time on Wednesday, March 29, 2017, at the Orange County Convention Center located at 9800 International Drive in Orlando, Florida. The Annual Meeting will address the following agenda items:

  1. The election of directors
  2. The transaction of such other business as properly may come before the meeting.

In connection with the election of directors, below is the slate of nominees presented by the Nominating Committee. If you are unable to attend the meeting, please complete the proxy voting form, and return to the WQA offices so that it will be received prior to February 22, 2017.

By order of the Board of Directors,

Pauli Undesser
Executive Director

2017 Slate of Nominees

Manufacturer/Supplier Category

Issa Al-Kharusy,
CEO of KDF Fluid Treatment, Inc. (Three Rivers, MI) 

Issa Al-Kharusy is the CEO of KDF Fluid Treatment, Inc. Founded in 1984, it is the manufacturer of KDF® process media and is widely used in the water purification industry. He has over 25 years of experience in the water treatment industry.  He is also Senior VP of Strategic Development & Global Marketing for the Wishing Well International Foundation. He is a WQA President’s Club Lifetime Member, a membership recruiter since 2001, and the recipient of the Membership Quality Circle Award in 2010. He has also had past involvement with the Education, Filtration and Convention task forces.

Scott Clawson
President and CEO, Culligan International (Rosemont, IL)

Scott Clawson is President and CEO of Culligan International. He is a Governor-at-Large on the WQA Board of Governors. He is also a member of the Strategic Planning Task Force and WQRF Research Advisory Committee. In March 2016, he was the recipient of the WQA Key Award.

Scott took the helm at Culligan in October 2012.  He led the resetting of Culligan’s strategy and revitalization of its relationship with Culligan dealers.  The strategy focuses on growing the business, by strengthening its franchise dealer channel in the residential and commercial markets.  He has also implemented a business system and culture focused on customers, dealers, accountability, and organizational effectiveness. 

Steve Ver Strat
Regulatory Policy Director of Amway Corp (Ada, MI) 

Steve Ver Strat is the Regulatory Policy Director at Amway Corp with over 30 years of experience in the residential water treatment industry.  He is currently serving as Secretary on the WQA Board of Governors. He is also serving on the Finance, Nominating and WQA/WQRF Research Agenda Steering Committees, as well as Co-Chair of the ASPE/WQA Sustainable UV Treatment Systems Working Group. He also serves on the Final Barrier Cost-Benefit, Purifier, Emergency and Disasters Study, and Benchmarking Study Task Forces. In 2010, he was the recipient of the WQA International Award of Merit.

Commercial/Industrial Category


Larry Gottlieb
Vice President of Operations of ResinTech, Inc. (West Berlin, NJ) 

Larry Gottlieb is the Vice President of Operations managing the day-to-day operations for ResinTech, Inc. He oversees Manufacturing, Quality and Research Development for Ion Exchange Resins, Activated Carbons and Specialty Adsorbents. He is a member of WQA’s Product Certification Advisory Council and Glossary of Terms Update Task Force. He is also a member of ETTAC, the Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee at the US Department of Commerce. He holds a degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Pittsburgh. He is a board member of the ASTM.

Retail Channel


Robert Maisner
Vice President of Sales & Marketing of Paragon Water Systems (Tampa, FL)

Robert Maiser is the Vice President of Sales & Marketing for Paragon Water Systems. He is currently serving as Vice President on the WQA Board of Governors and as a member of the Finance and Nominating Committees. Prior to joining Paragon 3 years ago, Bob spent the previous 20 years with Watts Water Technologies in several capacities including GM of the Premier division and as Vice President of Sales & Support of the Water Quality Platform. 

Dealer Category

Donald K. McGhee, MWS
CEO of Hydro Systems Inc. (Harlingen, TX)

Donald A. McGhee, MWS, is CEO of Hydro Systems Inc. He currently serves as President on the WQA Board of Governors and is a member of the Nominating and Finance Committees, as well as, the Strategic Planning Task Force. In 2014 he was the recipient of the WQA Ray Cross Award.

He is also a Managing Partner in Turbidex™/Hydro Source LLC., a zeolite filtration media supplier. McGhee currently serves on the Texas Water Development Board Regional Water Planning Group (Region M) Board of Directors, as well as Secretary and Executive Committee and the Texas State Technical College-Harlingen, TX Career Services Advisory Board.


Michael McGowan, MWS
Vice President of McGowan Water Conditioning (Mankato, MN)

Michael McGowan, MWS, is Vice President of McGowan Water Conditioning. Currently he’s a member of the WQA Board of Directors. He is also on the Governance and Events Committees as well as the Plumbers Task Force and Regional & State WQA Section. He’s a third generation water conditioning contractor; the family’s business was started by his grandfather, Lyle McGowan in 1955. His father Jack McGowan grew the business substantially throughout the 70s, 80s, & 90s, and Mike’s been buying him out since 2006. He’s been a Minnesota WQA Board member for over 10 years and held the Presidency twice. He’s also been involved with plumbing code regulation in Minnesota by being a member of the state Plumbing Board.

DJ Shannahan, Jr., MWS, CI, CCO
President of Sharp Water Culligan 
(Forest Hill, MD)

President of Sharp Water Culligan. He currently owns and operations 5 Culligan dealerships in the Mid-Atlantic region. He was a member of the WQA Board of Directors from 2005-2011. He’s a member of the WQA Federal Government Affairs Committee. He also served as the co-chair of the WQA Onsite Issues Task Force for 9 years and was instrumental in bringing about the environmental Impacts Study: Water Softener Effects on Septic System Performance at Virginia Tech. In 2013 he was awarded the WQA Key Award and the Regents Award in 2008. He was also honored with the Emmett J. Culligan Award in both 2015 and 2013.